Nebraska Massage Therapist License Exam
To get licensed in Nebraska, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Lincoln, Omaha, North Platte or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Nebraska.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Nebraska Office of Behavioral Health and Consumer Services.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 1000 hours of study and training in massage therapy.
The candidate must also pass either the National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETM / NCETMB) or the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
For more information on qualifications, see Nebraska Massage Therapy Application.
Applying for the Massage Exam:
Test Content: The NCETM, NCETMB and the MBLEx have the following content:
NCETM and NCETMB
The exams consist of 160 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have two hours and forty minutes to complete the computer based exam.
The exams are divided into six content areas:
- General knowledge of body systems
- Knowledge of anatomy, physiology and kinesiology
- Therapeutic massage assessment (NCETNB includes bodywork assessment)
- Therapeutic massage application (NCETNB includes bodywork application)
- Professional standards, ethics, business and legal practices
The exam consists of 125 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have two hours and thirty minutes to complete the computer based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) transcript of completed course of study; and (3) verification of passage of the NCETM, NCETMB or the MBLEx. The documents should be sent to:
Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Public Health – Licensure Unit
PO Box 94986
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
Phone: (402) 471-4918
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who Administers the Massage Tests: The NCETM and NCETMB are administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) and Pearson Vue and the MBLEx is administered by the the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB).
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license every 2 years and complete at least 24 hours of continuing education in that time period.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in Nebraska are regulated by 172 NAC 81.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests: