Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission (“NHREC”).
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate must complete 40 clock hours of study at an NHREC-approved real estate school (search schools here), pass a school-administered final exam, and (within one year) pass a state exam. All candidates must submit a full set of fingerprints, and pass a background check. All candidates must be at least 18 years of age.
Applying for the Exams: Prior to registering for the state exam, a candidate must submit an application for licensure to NHREC. NHREC then notifies both the candidate and Applied Measurement Professionals (the testing vendor, "AMP") of the candidate's eligibility to sit for the state licensing exam. The candidate should apply to take the state exam through the Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) website scheduling page. For more information, see the New Hampshire Real Estate Examination Candidate Handbook.
Test Content: The New Hampshire state real estate licensing exam is comprised of two separate portions, the national portion and the state-specific portion. Five to ten questions (disbursed throughout both portions of the exam) are considered "experimental" questions and are not scored. The questions on the two portions are intermixed and do not appear as separate sections. Both portions are comprised of multiple choice questions with four answer choices provided for each question. Test takers are allotted 3 ½ hours to complete both portions of the exam. The passing score for each portion of the exam is a scaled score of 70. The exam is presented in a computer-based format, but accommodations for paper-based tests and/or oral testing can be provided with special arrangements.
The national portion of the test consists of 100 questions, and tests the candidate's knowledge of general real estate concepts, including the following subject areas:
Agency Relationships and Contracts
Real Property Ownership/Interest
Marketing Regulations (purchase and rental)
Real Estate Calculations
The state-specific test consists of 40 questions, and tests the candidate's knowledge of the state-specific concepts, including the following subject areas:
Real Estate Commission
Regulation of Licensee Conduct
Regulation of Agency Conduct
How to Apply for the License: Most documents will be submitted to NHREC with the licensing application prior to registering for and taking the state exam. Candidates must provide NHREC with the following documents: (1) completed application and application fee; (2) original New Hampshire state real estate licensing exam score report(s); (3) certificate issued by an NHREC -approved school for completion of the 40-hour salesperson pre-licensure curriculum; (4) the criminal record release authorization form that is attached to the application. All of the required documents must be submitted to NHREC within two years of passing the exam. The submittal instructions are on the application.
Fees: NHREC charges a license application fee.
Who administers the test: NHREC and AMP.
License Renewal Requirements – A New Hampshire real estate licensee must take xx credit hours of continuing education from an NHREC-approved provider every two years. Search providers here and here.
Applicable Regulations: Real estate licensees in New Hampshire are regulated under the New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated, Chapter 331-A and the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission Administrative Rules.
To prepare for your Real Estate Agent exam, use our 300 question practice test, with answers fully explained, by expert Karen Bohler.
For more information on real estate agent licensing and exam preparation, go to Tests.com’s
Real Estate Agent Exam Guide and Real Estate Broker Exam Guide.