To get licensed in Alabama, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Birmingham, Mobile, Montgomery or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Alabama.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Alabama Board of Massage Therapy.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 650 hours from an accredited massage therapy school and pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
Applying for the Massage Exam: Candidates can apply online to take the MBLEx. More information can be found on the MBLEx in a Candidate Handbook.
Exam Content: The MBLEx has the following content:
The exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who administers the test: Pearson Vue.
Need of Liability Insurance: A massage therapist needs to carry at least $1,000,000 in personal liability insurance.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must complete at least 16 hours of continuing education and renew their license every 2 years.
Applicable Regulations: Alabama Code, Title 34, Chapter, 43; Alabama Board of Massage Therapy Administrative Code, Chapter 532X1.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests: