Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Delaware Real Estate Commission (“DREC”).
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate must complete 99 clock hours of study at a DREC-approved real estate school (search schools here), pass a school-administered final exam, and pass a state exam. Candidates who hold a license in another state might be eligible for a waiver for a portion of the required education, or a portion of the state exam. All candidates must be at least 18 years of age. For more information about qualifications, see the Salesperson Licensure page on the Delaware Real Estate Commission website.
Applying for the Exams: Candidates should apply to take the state exam through the Pearson VUE website scheduling page. For more information, see the State of Delaware Real Estate Candidate Handbook.
Test Content: The Delaware state real estate licensing exam is comprised of two separate tests, the national test and the state-specific test. Five questions on the national test and ten questions on the state-specific test are considered "experimental" questions and are not scored. Both portions are comprised of multiple choice questions with four answer choices provided for each question. Test takers are allotted 4 hours to complete both tests. A scaled score of at least 70 (scaled score is not a percentage) is required to pass. The exam is presented in a computer-based format, but accommodations for paper-based tests and/or oral testing can be provided with special arrangements.
The national test consists of 85 questions (80 are scored, 5 are not scored) and tests the candidate's knowledge of general real estate concepts, including the following subject areas:
Real property characteristics, definitions, ownership, restrictions, and transfer
Property valuation and appraisal
Contracts and relationships with buyers and sellers
Property conditions and disclosures
Federal laws governing real estate activities
Financing the transaction and settlement
Leases, rents, and property management
The state-specific test consists of 50 questions (40 are scored, 10 are not scored) and tests the candidate's knowledge of the state-specific concepts, including the following subject areas:
Duties and powers of the Real Estate Commission
Statutory requirements governing the activities of licensees
Additional state topics
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide DREC with the following documents: (1) completed application and application fee; (2) original Delaware state real estate licensing exam score report(s); (3) certificate issued by a DREC-approved school for completion of the 99-hour salesperson pre-licensure curriculum; (5) if applicable, supporting documentation for any answer on the application to which the candidate provided a "yes" answer. All of the required documents must be submitted to the DREC offices in Dover. Additional instructions for specific license applicants are available on the Salesperson Licensure page on the DREC website, or by contacting DREC by telephone at: 302-744-4500.
Fees: DREC charges a license application fee.
Who administers the test: DREC and Pearson VUE.
License Renewal Requirements: A Delaware real estate licensee must take 21 credit hours of continuing education from a DREC-approved provider every two years. Further information is provided on the DREC website, here.
Applicable Regulations: Real estate licensees in Delaware are regulated under The Division of Professional Regulation Administrative Code, Title 24, Section 29, Real Estate, and the Delaware Statutes, Title 24, Section 29.
To prepare for your Real Estate Agent exam, use our 300 question practice test, with answers fully explained, by expert Karen Bohler.
For more information on real estate agent licensing and exam preparation, go to Tests.com’s
Real Estate Agent Exam Guide and Real Estate Broker Exam Guide.