Alaska Massage Therapist License
To get licensed in Alaska, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Juneau, Anchorage, Homer, Fairbanks or another city or town, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Alaska.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Board of Massage Therapy.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to graduate from an approved massage school and have completed a minimum of 625 hours of in-class training. The candidate must also pass the MBLEx.
For more information on qualifications, see Alaska Massage Therapist.
Applying for the Massage Exam: Candidates can apply online to take the MBLEx. More information can be found on the MBLEx in a Candidate Handbook.
MBLEx Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer-based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) certified transcripts of completed course of study; and (3) verification from MBLEx passage of the exam. Candidates must also submit a fingerprint card and state and national criminal record check. The documents should be sent to:
Board of Massage Therapists
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: (907) 465-2550
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who administers the test: The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and Pearson Vue.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license every 2 years and complete at least 16 hours of continuing education every 2 years.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in Alaska are regulated by Alaska Massage Therapist Statutes and Regulations.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:
Michelle MacCubbin, LMT
Sara Rennie, LMT
Andrew Dacres, LMT
Chanel Andrade, LMT
Actual MBLEx Content Outline (source: The FSMTB Handbook):
Anatomy & Physiology
Benefits & Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
Client Assessment, Reassessment & Treatment Planning
Ethics, Boundaries, Regulations, Laws
Massage Overview & Bodywork History / Culture / Modalities
Pathology, Contraindications, Special Populations, Areas of Caution
Professional Practice Guidelines