Connecticut Massage Therapist License Exam

To get licensed in Connecticut, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology.  Whether you live in Bridgeport, Hartford, Manchester or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.

Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Connecticut.

Who Grants a License:  Licenses are granted by the Connecticut Department of Public Health.

Qualifications to receive a License:  A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 500 hours from an accredited massage therapy school and passpass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).

Applying for the Massage Exam:  Candidates can apply online to take the MBLEx.  More information can be found on the MBLEx in a Candidate Handbook.

Test Content:  The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question.  Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer based exam.

The exam is divided into eight content areas:

      -          Anatomy & Physiology 
     -          Kinesiology 
     -          Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations 
     -          Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue 
     -          Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning 
     -          Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities 
     -          Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations 
     -          Guidelines for Professional Practice 

How to Apply for the License:  Candidates must provide the Connecticut Department of Public Health the following documents:  (1) completed application; (2) verification of completed course of study; and (3) verification from the FSMTB of passage of the MBLEx.  The documents should be sent directly to: 

               Connecticut Department of Public Health 
               Massage Therapist Licensure 
               410 Capitol Ave., MS# 12 APP, PO Box 340308
               Hartford, CT 06134 

Fees:  There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist. 

Who administers the test:  FSMTB and Pearson Vue. 

License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license every 2 years and complete at least 24 hours of continuing education every 4 years.

Applicable Regulations:  Massage therapist in Connecticut are regulated by Connecticut General Statutes, Chapter 384a

_________________________________

 For more information on licensing and exam preparation, go to Tests.com’s  MBLEx Test Guide and BCETMB Test Guide.

 And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:

 MBLEx Practice Test

 BCETMB Practice Test

For massage therapy exam preparation products, such as study guides, flashcards and courses, go to Tests.com’s MBLEx and BCETMB listings.

Are you looking for MBLEx sample questions and guidance on how to pass the MBLEx on the first try?  

Check out the Practice Exam for the MBLEx with 875 massage therapy questions covering the same main sections as the actual MBLEx.


Bookmark Page