Louisiana Life and Health Insurance Agent Exam

Life & Health Exam Need of a License: An individual who is acting as an agent or producer needs a license to sell life and health insurance in Louisiana.

Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Louisiana Department of Insurance.

Qualifications to receive a License: Individuals who wish to obtain an insurance license in the State of Louisiana must:
1. Be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
2. Be a resident of the state of Louisiana.
3. Complete prelicensing education requirements.
4. Submit your license application online.
5. Make a reservation and fingerprinting appointment.
6. Pass the examination.
7. Have your fingerprints scanned at a PSI testing center.
8. Receive your license from PSI after Department approval.
Prelicensing Education Requirements: Life, Health and Accident Producer candidates must complete 40 hours of prelicensing education. You may obtain a current list of authorized prelicensing schools from the Department’s Web site at www.ldi.state.la.us.

Fingerprinting Requirements: Fingerprinting must be done at a Prometric test center in Louisiana using “live scan” technology which digitally captures and transmits the fingerprints to the FBI. Test center locations in Louisiana may be found by going to http://www.psionline.com/PROGRAMS/LAFingerprint%20hours.pdf
and clicking on the “Do More” button. Alternatively, you may call 800.853.5448.

How to Apply for the License: You must apply for a license before you take the exam. Submit your license application online at www.nipr.com
State Licensing Information:
Louisiana Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 94214
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214
Phone: 225.342.0860

Test Information: At the end of your exam, your score will be shown on the screen and you will receive a printed score report. The report indicates your overall score and grade, including the numerical percentage of questions answered correctly and whether you passed or failed. Each examination is based on a detailed content outline of topics, subtopics, and references to applicable state laws, statutes and regulations. The Louisiana Department of Insurance Licensing Information Bulletin contains specific content information beyond the following general outlines:
Louisiana Examination for Life, Health and Accident Insurance Series 14-03
150 questions - 150-minute time limit
1.0 Insurance Regulation 6%
2.0 General Insurance 5%
3.0 Life Insurance Basics 13%
4.0 Life Insurance Policies 8%
5.0 Life Insurance Policy Provisions, Options and Riders 13%
6.0 Annuities 5%
7.0 Federal Tax Considerations for Life Insurance and Annuities 2%
8.0 Qualified Plans 2%
9.0 Health Insurance Basics 10%
10.0 Individual Health Insurance Policy General Provisions 5%
11.0 Disability Income and Related Insurance 3%
12.0 Medical Plans 9%
13.0 Group Health Insurance 6%
14.0 Dental Insurance 2%
15.0 Insurance for Senior Citizens and Special Needs Individuals 10%
16.0 Federal Tax Considerations for Health Insurance 1%

License Renewal Requirements: Individual Producer licenses must be renewed every two years and there is a continuing education requirement.

Applicable Regulations: Life and health insurance agents in Louisiana are regulated by the Louisiana Department of Insurance.

For more information on life and health insurance agent licensing and exam preparation, go to Tests.com’s Life and Health Insurance Exam Guide.

And take Tests.com’s free Life and Health Insurance Agent Practice Test.

For life and health insurance agent exam preparation products, such as study guides, flashcards and courses, go to Tests.com’s Life and Health Insurance Sales Exam listings.