Texas Massage Therapist License Exam
To get licensed in Texas, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Dallas, Houston, San Antonio or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Texas.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Texas Department of State Health Services.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 500 hours of course instruction in massage therapy broken down as follows:
- 200 hours of massage therapy techniques and theories
- 50 hours of anatomy
- 25 hours of physiology
- 50 hours of kinesiology
- 40 hours of pathology
- 20 hours of hydrotherapy
- 45 hours of massage therapy laws and rules, business practices and ethics
- 20 hours of health and hygiene, first aid and CPR
- 50-hour internship
The candidate must pass the following exams:
1. The candidate must pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
2. The candidate must pass a state jurisprudence exam.
For more information on qualifications, see Massage Therapy Examination Requirements.
Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer-based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) transcript of completed course of study; (3) CPR certification; (4) criminal history evaluation; and (5) verification of passage of the MBLEx. Candidates must send the documents to:
Texas Department of State Health Services
Massage Therapy Licensing Program
PO Box 12197
Austin, TX 78711-2197
Phone: (512) 834-6616
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who Administers the Massage Tests: The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and Pearson Vue.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew her license every year and complete at least 12 hours of continuing education in that time period.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in Texas are governed by Title 16, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 117.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:
Michelle MacCubbin, LMT
Sara Rennie, LMT
Andrew Dacres, LMT
Chanel Andrade, LMT
Actual MBLEx Content Outline (source: The FSMTB Handbook):
Anatomy & Physiology
Benefits & Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
Client Assessment, Reassessment & Treatment Planning
Ethics, Boundaries, Regulations, Laws
Massage Overview & Bodywork History / Culture / Modalities
Pathology, Contraindications, Special Populations, Areas of Caution
Professional Practice Guidelines